Skip to content

National Volunteer Week – Anonymous

April 20, 2012

April 15th 2012 – April 21st 2012 is National Volunteer Week! Volunteer Week is a time to take a moment to recognize and appreciate the hard and important work of our dedicated volunteers. Visit our blog throughout this week to read a series of stories that we hope acknowledges and celebrates the amazing volunteer community here at In Other Words.

When I was faced with an unplanned pregnancy, I didn’t know where to turn. I felt distant from my friends and my partner, I didn’t feel like I could talk to my family about it, and I knew that it would be career suicide if I were to mention anything at my place of employment. I found myself at In Other Words quite frequently while I reexamined my life’s path. Every time I walked in to In Other Words, I was warmly greeted by the volunteers on shift that day, and they made me feel comfortable spending as much time there as I needed. I spent many hours sitting on the couches at In Other Words reading library books and freewriting in my journal, and I attended nearly every event held in the space during that time. Regardless of whether it was an intimate poetry reading, or a lively children’s playgroup, or a jam-packed Dirty Queer open mic, or simply some Jefferson High or PCC students browsing the consignment crafts, I was humbled by the passion and love that fills In Other Words every time the doors opened. I felt welcomed in each moment by an open and affirming community that gave me a sense of belonging, even though I was often amongst strangers I had never met. An unassuming and loving feminist community center was exactly what I needed; during a time when I felt like I had no home and no voice and no direction, In Other Words was the place that was there for me. Thank you to the volunteers who make this space what it is.

— Name withheld

There is always room for more volunteers! Sign up to volunteer by going to our website at inotherwords.org/volunteer, or drop us a line at volunteer@inotherwords.org with any questions.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

