Skip to content

On discovering the In Other Words volunteer family (and blogging on Tumblr)!

January 12, 2015
Follow us on Tumblr!

Follow us on Tumblr!

I learned about In Other Words Feminist Community Center when I attended a Reel Feminism screening at the Clinton Street Theater in early summer 2014.  I had just started to educate myself about feminist movement(s) in general and I was thrilled to learn that there was a place that actively supported feminism in my town!  

I immediately visited the space and signed up to volunteer; I’ve been volunteering at In Other Words since August 2014.  I’m now a regular volunteer staffer once per week.  I also volunteer on the Communications Team, where I am the lead volunteer manager for the (fairly) new Tumblr blog account for In Other Words.

If you’d like to keep up with feminist issues, to read about In Other Words-related news, to find and learn about feminist events around Portland, and to receive a daily dose of feminism on your Dashboard, please click here to follow us on Tumblr!”

Izzy B., In Other Words volunteer

.

HOORAY for volunteer-run FEMINIST SOCIAL MEDIA!

.

In Other Words is entirely run by volunteers.  In addition to staffing the space, volunteers also lead and operate issue-specific volunteer work teams, including the Communications Team.  If you are a feminist and have several hours per week to give, please consider joining our volunteer family! To learn more about joining our board of directors, please email us at humanresources[at]inotherwords[dot]org.

In Other Words Feminist Community Center is a 501(c) non-profit, all donations are tax deductible.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

